New Play Festival

Riot Act, Inc. Announces Winners of our Annual New Play Festival

July 30, 2020

Riot Act, Inc. is thrilled to announce the winners of its Annual New Play Festival. Of the original works submitted for the contest, the judges ultimately selected three short plays by regional playwrights to be produced as part of Riot Act’s Annual Series of Shorts September 16-19, 2020.

The first-place winner will receive $200 and the Marius P. Hanford IV Award. Marius was a longtime stage combat choreographer influential in several theater communities, including Jackson and New York. The second place will receive $100 and third place will be awarded $50.


Winning plays are:

#1 – Temp by Nicholas Dunn of Salt Lake City, UT

#2 – Two Goddesses Walk into a Cowboy Bar by Gregory L. Wright of Teton Village, WY

#3 – When Nana Hit the Glass by Rebecca Ryland of Clancy, MT

All three plays are excellent examples of our talented regional writing pool and Riot Act is excited for the opportunity to bring these new creations to life on the stage.

This year’s winners were selected by judges: Deanna Darr of ID, Michael J Johnson of Jackson and Washington DC, Brent Podosek of CO., Ashley Mott of UT, Meg Daly of Jackson, and Lacey Lukas of Jackson.  We hope to see you at the show as we bring these new scripts to life on stage in September.

For more details, contact